April 16, 2024

The Donegal League’s Oscar Cup journey got here to and finish in Athlone after opponents Waterford got here from behind to win 3-2.

Issues acquired off to the right begin for John Doogan’s aspect after Matthie Crossan headed residence Joel Gorman’s cross in simply the eighth minute.

Either side had additional probabilities within the opening half but it surely appeared just like the Donegal League would go in forward at half-time.

Nevertheless, Waterford levelled within the 43th minute when Conor Whittle nipped into the world and lobbed Mark Anthony McGinley.

However the Donegal League managed to get their noses in entrance once more within the second half as veteran Michael Funston drilled a low shot previous the Waterford goalkeeper Gavin Buckley.

Former Finn Harps man Funston was changed some time later and John Doogan’s males appeared to overlook the form he had offered.

Mark O’Keeffe had the Blues stage once more within the 68th minute when he slipped the ball previous an advancing McGinley because the Donegal aspect tried to spring the offside lure.

The Donegal outfit have been nonetheless looking for their composure when Waterford struck once more within the 74th minute when Luke Walsh discovered the highest nook from the sting of the field to make it 3-2.

Subs Nathan Plumb and Darren McElwaine tried desperately to seize an equaliser however couldn’t break down a resolute Waterford defence.

A late shout for a penalty noticed Donegal League supervisor John Doogan complain and he acquired a second yellow card.

A good affair which might have gone both means however the Donegal League can maintain their heads excessive after a powerful run within the competitors.

Donegal League: Mark Anthony McGinley; Paul Boyle, Matthew Crossan, James Doherty (Brendan Doherty 75), Ryan Lonergan; Michael Funston (Darren McElwaine 66), Joel Gorman, Shane McNamee (Lee McMonagle 81), Mark Forker (Zach Gorman 81); Eddie O’Reilly (Nathan Plumb 87), Adrian Delap.

Waterford District League: Gavin Buckley, Adam Conway, Luke Walsh, Darryl Walsh, Danny Reynolds (Conor Signorelli 90), Adham Mazood, Conor Whittle, David Cooley (Andrew Energy 90), Michael Brennan (John Frederick Tamen 54); Mark O’Keeffe, Charlie Binions.

Donegal League’s Oscar Traynor Cup goals finish in Athlone was final modified: March thirty first, 2024 by Employees Author