May 19, 2024

By Charlie Collins

Donegal 1-07 v 0-06 Armagh

With each groups having received their opening two video games within the Group B towards Cavan and Fermanagh, the prize for one more victory right here was a spot immediately into the semi-finals as Group B winners.

The losers would qualify for a Quarter-Last spot towards Monaghan , who completed in third place in Group A, so for each groups a win can be a way more fascinating end result.

In very windy circumstances we had simply 4 scores within the opening sixteen minutes, Luke McGlynn’s free and a glorious Karl Magee level from play for Donegal and an excellent lengthy vary effort plus a fisted effort, each by Pierce Blessing for Armagh to depart them degree at two factors apiece.

Shaun Ward transformed a tremendous free after which a giant second with a Donegal objective when Oisín Caulfield performed an excellent move to Karl Joseph Molloy and the Ardara man hammered the ball previous Rhys Stevens low to the online, 1-03 to 0-02 and the house workforce in a robust place.

Nonetheless Armagh replied with the ultimate two scores of the half, each tremendous factors from play by Fergal O Brien and a 3rd from Pierce Blessing to depart the half-time rating 1-03 to 0-04 .

The sturdy wind was primarily blowing throughout the pitch however simply serving to the workforce enjoying in the direction of the river finish, so Donegal would have that barely benefit within the second-half, however may they make it depend.

Karl Joseph Molloy opened the second-half scoring from a mark and Donegal led by three because the rain arrived to make issues much more tough for the gamers. Ryan Duffy replied for Armagh and it was again to a two level recreation with fifteen minutes left.

Luke McGlynn transformed two frees as did Brendan O Hagan for Armagh and with each groups kicking some dangerous wides it completed 1-06 to 0-07 and a semi-final spot secured.

Donegal: Damian McGowan, Callum McCrea, Finbarr Roarty, Karl Magee (0-01), Finn Coll, Oisin Caulfield, Sean Martin, Conor Reid, Shaun Ward (0-01f), Conor McGinty, Luke McGlynn (0-03f’s), Seanán Carr, Eoghan Kelly, Patrick McElwaine, Okay J Molloy (1-01). Subs used: Cian McMenamin and Daithi Gildea for Reid and Carr (each 48mins), Kevin Lynch for Molloy (58mins), Donal Gallagher and Adam McGeever for Ward and McGinty (60mins).

Armagh: Rhys Stevens, Emmet Magee, Gareth Murphy, Odhran Carragher, Fergal O’Brien (0-01), Brendan O’Hagan (0-02f), Callum O’Neill, Tadgh Grimley, Pierce Blessing (0-03), Padraig O’Keefe, Ruairi O’Brien, Ryan Duffy, Fergal Boylan, James Austin, Conal McGeough, Michael Burnett. Subs used: Aaron O’Neill for O Keffee (h/t), Conal McGeough for Austin (50mins), Cathal Agnew for O Brien (54mins) Referee: Diarmuid Boylan (Monaghan).

Donegal U20s declare Ulster Semi-Last spot with Armagh win was final modified: April thirteenth, 2024 by Workers Author