April 21, 2024

Donegal 0-15 v 0-14 Armagh

By Charlie Collins

Armagh got here from 4 factors down to guide by one however Donegal raised their recreation once more to take the lead and when Armagh drew degree but once more Aaron Doherty kicked the successful level in injury-time to spherical off a superb Nationwide League marketing campaign.

Donegal supervisor Jim McGuinness throughout Sunday’s last. Picture Evan Logan

With the Ulster Championship attributable to get underway subsequent this Division Two Nationwide League Remaining at Croke Park gave each these groups the chance to play on an enormous stage with out an excessive amount of strain. With promotion again to Division One already secured it was an opportunity to check themselves in opposition to good opposition.

Donegal had been with out various gamers who had featured recurrently within the league marketing campaign so there was begins for others together with Caolan McColgan, Kevin McGettigan, Jason McGee, Luke McGlynn, and Niall O Donnell.

Donegal’s Jason McGee units up a primary half assault throughout Sunday’s last. Picture Evan Logan

Jason McGee gained the throw-in and located Oisín Gallen who known as the mark and pointed from 20 metres. Two minutes later Ciaran Thompson’s effort for a degree dropped shot, Niall O Donnell grabbed it and laid it off to Kevin McGettigan whose shot for aim was saved by Blaine Hughes, large aim likelihood for Donegal.

Armagh received degree with a Jarlath Og Burns level and after a Brillant aim saving block by Caolan McGonagle, Burns pointed once more within the seventh minute. Donegal had been quickly again on degree with a nice level from Niall O Donnell, 0-02 apiece.

Donegal’s Niall O’Donnell appears for a well past Armagh’s Joe McElroy throughout Sunday’s last. Picture Evan Logan

Ciaran Thompson put Donegal forward once more however two close-in frees from Conor Turbitt restored Armagh’s lead. Again got here Donegal with one other nice Ciaran Thompson rating to make it 0-04 apiece and when Rory Grugan from play and Oisín Gallen from a free exchanged factors it was 0-05 factors every after 26 minutes.

As play swung from finish to finish Grugan added his second level adopted on the different finish by Ciaran Thompson’s third, this time from a free, now 0-06 every. Oisín Conaty put Armagh forward once more with an excellent rating however earlier than half-time Peadar Mogan and the wonderful Ciaran Thompson along with his fourth level gave Donegal a one level lead of 0-08 to 0-07 on the break. An fascinating first-half and all to play for within the second interval.

Donegal’s Mark Curran throughout Sunday’s last. Picture Evan Logan

Niall O Donnell and Conor Turbitt exchanged early factors within the second-half after which an nice effort by Oisín Gallen adopted by a effectively labored Shane O Donnell level put Donegal three in entrance for the primary time within the recreation, 0-11 to 0-08. O Donnell then rapidly added his third level of the sport and instantly the lead was out to 4 and Donegal wanting good.

They’d a bit of fine luck when the woodwork denied Armagh on a few events and the introduction of each Stefan Campbell and Rian O Neill confirmed they felt they wanted a lift. They usually received one with with 5 factors in a row to take the lead, two from Grugan, one every from Turbitt, Campbell and Oisín O neill to guide by 0-13 to 0-12.

Donegal’s Oisín Gallen breaks for aim throughout Sunday’s last. Picture Evan Logan

Again got here Donegal with two tremendous factors from Caolan McGonagle and Oisín Gallen they usually led once more. However not for lengthy as Oisín Conaty kicked an Armagh equalizer, 0-14 apiece as we entered damage time.

It was Donegal who grabbed the winner on this cracker as Aaron Doherty kicked an excellent rating and though he missed one other likelihood it mattered not as Donegal gained the Division Two Nationwide League title by 0-15 to 0-14.

Donegal’s Aaron Doherty fires over the successful rating throughout Sunday’s last. Picture Evan Logan

Donegal’s Mark Curran celebrates with Patrick McBrearty after Sunday’s last. Picture Evan Logan

Donegal rejoice after Sunday’s last. Picture Evan Logan

Donegal: Shaun Patton, Mark Curran, Ciaran Moore, Caolan McColgan, Kevin Mc Gettigan, Caolan McGonagle (0-01), Shane O Donnell (0-01), Jason McGee, Michael Langan, Peadar Mogan (0-01), Ciaran Thompson (0-04 ), Luke McGlynn, Aaron Doherty (0-01), Oisin Gallen (0-04), Niall O Donnell (0-03). Subs: Jamie Brennan and Odhran Doherty for McGlynn and McGettigan (h/t), Hugh McFadden for McGee (40 minutes), Jeaic McKelvey, Charles McGuinness for Niall O Donnell and Mogan (60mins).

Armagh: Blaine Hughes, Paddy Burns, Aaron McKay, Peter McGrane, Greg McCabe, Aidan Forker, Darren McMullan, Ciaran Mackin, Ben Crealey, Jarlath Og Burns (0-02), Rory Grugan (0-03), Joe McElroy, Conor Turbitt (0-04), Andrew Murnin, Oisin Conaty (0-02). Subs: Stefan Campbell 0-01 for Forker (40mins), Rian O Neill (0-01) for McElroy (48mins), Oisín O Neill (0-01).

Referee: Paul Faloon (Down).

Dramatic last-gasp winner sees Donegal win Division Two was final modified: April 1st, 2024 by Workers Author