April 16, 2024

By Charlie Collins

Tyrone 1-17 v 0-20 Donegal

This was each groups’ third recreation of their Division 2B Nationwide Hurling League campaigns.

Each got here in with a file of 1 win and one defeat, each shedding their native derby video games in opposition to league leaders Derry and apparently each conceding 2-20 to their neighbours in these matches. There had been little to selected between them in current assembly and with a high three end within the desk a precedence there was loads at stake is that this encounter at O Neill’s Healy Park in Omagh.

There was little between them within the opening half right here both as they traded rating for rating and the lead modified fingers on a few events however 4 factors in a row put Donegal three in entrance, however Tyrone fought again with a few factors and at half-time Donegal led by 0-12 to 0-11.

Gerry Gilmore for Donegal and Aidy Kelly for Tyrone topped scored for his or her groups, whereas Sean McVeigh, Liam McKinney, Brian McIntyre and corner-backs Gavin Browne and Stephen Gillespie all chipped in for Donegal.

Donegal added two fast factors at the beginning of the second-half to go three clear once more, Conor Gartland and Conor O Grady including to their record of scorers. Scores proved laborious to return by for a interval after this however Donegal have been in a position to match Tyrone and moved three forward once more 0-16 to 0-13 by the fiftieth minute however until all to play for within the closing twenty minutes.

That was very a lot the case when Tyrone hit the sport’s first aim , corner-back Seamus Sweeney changing to convey his facet again on degree phrases, 1-13 to 0-16 and recreation very a lot on to seize the victory on this cracking derby conflict.

Joe McToal gave Tyrone the lead however Gerry Gilmore added two restore Donegal’s lead, taking his whole to eight factors. However Tyrone’s primary man Aidy Kelly transformed one other free and we degree once more , 1-15 to 0-18 with time working out. Each groups added one other level, 1-16 to 0-19 and the query was may considered one of them clinch the victory within the dying minutes.

Donegal grabbed the lead once more with one other Stephen Gillespie level within the 69th minute and with three added minutes was there time for Tyrone to answer once more.

There was and it was Aidy Kelly once more stepping as much as degree this cracker with a degree to make sure a share of the spoils which was most likely the fairest consequence given how shut this recreation had been from begin to end.

No doubt that aim by Seamus Sweeney was large in such a keenly contested recreation.

Tyrone: Conor McElhatton, Seamus Sweeney (1-00), Ruairi Devlin, Oran McKee (0-01), Bryan McGurk, Fionn Devlin, Tiernan Morgan, Ben Gormley (0-01), James McCann, Cormac Monroe, Aidy Kelly (0-09), Joe McToal (0-03), Rory Weir (0-01), Lorcan Devlin (0-02), Turlough Mullin. Subs used: Sean Og Grogan, Mark McClean, Dean Rafferty.

Donegal: Luke White, Gavin Browne (0-01), Stephen McBride, Stephen Gillespie (0-01), Ciaran Bradley, Bernard Lafferty, Ciaran Curran, Sean McVeigh (0-01), Gerry Gilmore (0-10), Josh Cronolly McGee, Brian McIntyre (0-01), Conor Gartland (0-01), Conor O Grady (0-01), Oisin Grant (0-03), Liam McKinney (0-01). Subs used: Cathal O Brien, Sean Ward, Ruairi Campbell.

Referee: Kevin Parke (Antrim).

Factors shared as Donegal and Tyrone attract Nationwide Hurling League conflict was final modified: February twenty fourth, 2024 by Employees Author