July 23, 2024

The Michael Murphy Senior Championship for 2023 obtained underway at a moist and windy Pairc Taobhoige tonight and a Jack Lengthy aim halfway by the second-half gave Glenfin a successful begin to their marketing campaign in opposition to St.Micheals in a low scoring sport , 1-05 to 0-05.

By Charlie Collins at Pairc Taobhoige

The house group performed with the weather of their favour within the opening half and their 0-04 to 0-02 lead hardly regarded sufficient, each groups kicking some dangerous wides, a theme that was additionally a characteristic of the second-half.

And although the circumstances had been tough, a few of these misses had been poor.

Paul Johnston gave the guests an early lead after which each groups had aim possibilities in fast succession, Packie O Neill for St.Micheals after which Ciaran Brady for Glenfin, each did not convert.

Glenfin misplaced Frank McGlynn with harm, however Daniel Marley and Shaun Ward each scored from frees and Andrew Kelly replied to go away it 0-02 apiece.

Ordhan O Conner from a Mark and a very good level from play by Mark McGinty left Glenfin 0-04 to 0-02 forward on the break.

Kelly and Ward exchanged early factors and a high quality rating from St.Micheals Hugh O Donnell left only one between them.

The guests launched Carlos O Reilly however earlier than he might make an affect, Glenfin hit the sport’s essential rating.

Younger Jack Lengthy pounced on Luke McGlynn’s cross and steered a beautiful shot with the surface of his proper foot to the far backside nook of the web.

O Reilly pointed instantly for the guests however that will show to be the final rating of the sport to provide Glenfin 1-05 to 0-05 victory and nice begin to their championship marketing campaign.

Glenfin: Andrew Walsh; Gary Herron, John Harkin, Martin O’Donnell; Ross Marley, Mark McGinty (0-1), Jack Lengthy (1-00),
Jason Morrow, Frank McGlynn; Daniel Marley (0-1, 1f), Ciaran Brady, Shaun Ward (0-2, 2fs); Odhran O’Connor (0-1, 1m), Luke McGlynn, Daniel McGlynn. Subs: Aaron McGlynn for F.McGlynn (10 minutes), Gerard Ward for Brady (49 minutes).

St Michael’s: Mark Anthony McGinley; Stephen Doak, Liam Paul Ferry, Jamie Hunter; Hugh O’Donnell (0-1), Ciaran Kelly, Martin Breslin; Martin McElhinney, Colin McFadden; Antoin McFadden, Kyle McGarvey, Conan Brennan; Paul Johnston (0-1), Packie O’Neill, Andrew Kelly (0-2, 1f). Subs: Carlos O’Reilly (0-1) for O’Neill (45 minutes), Michael Cannon for Breslin (52 minutes), Eoghan Kelly for Brennan (54 minutes). Referee : Pat Barrett ( Milford ).

GAA: Lengthy’s aim provides Glenfin a successful begin in championship was final modified: August 18th, 2023 by Workers Author