May 23, 2024

The opening twenty minutes of this semi-final was a really cagey affair and produced simply 4 factors, two for every workforce. Liam McGrenaghan And Darren McElwaine for Gaeil Fhanada and Josh Conlon and Conor Farren for Malin.

Then within the 21th minute out of the blue a purpose, Malin keeper Daniel Mullarkey tried a brief kick-out which went straight to Darren McElwaine and he brillantly lobbed the retreating keeper into the online, 1-02 to 0-02 to the Gaels.

Malin had an excellent probability to answer virtually instantly when Terence Doherty was put by means of on purpose however Mark McConagley denied him with a brilliant save.

Conor O Neill and Christy McLaughlin added Malin factors and James Kerr obtained one for Fanad Gaels to depart it 1-03 to 0-04 for the Gaels at half-time.

It was rating for rating within the opening quarter of the second-half , Darren McElwaine and Eoghan Carr for Gaels, Sean O Neill and Terence Doherty  for Malin, 1-05 to 0-06. Liam McGrenaghan’s 45 made it a 3 level once more however in a short time that was again to at least one as Josh Conlon and Conor O Neill added Malin factors, 1-06 to 0-08.

Calum McAteer and Conlon exchanged factors as the joy elevated within the ultimate minutes after which within the ultimate minute of regular time Christy McLaughlin despatched over a cracker to degree it up, 1-07 to 0-10 and similar to the opposite semi-final between Downings and Termon we had been heading for extra-time.

Malin scored twice within the first interval, Sean O Neill and sub Conor McGeoghegan after which once more early within the second-half from re-introduced Josh Conlon. Two minutes later got here the very important rating that ended Gaeil Fhanada’s hopes as Conor O Neill raised away to attain a brillant solo purpose after which fittingly Christy McLaughlin kicked the ultimate level to ship Malin into the Intermediate Championship Remaining towards Downings in two weeks time on a ultimate rating of 1-14 to 1-07.

Gaeil Fhanada: Mark McConigley, Shaun Kerr, Paddy Heraghty, Jimmy Coyle, Calum McAteer (0-01), Odhran Shiels, Brandon McClafferty, Liam McGrenaghan (0-01), Patrick Carr (0-01), James Kerr (0-01), Darren McElwaine (1-02), Eoghan Carr (0-01), Mark McAteer, Fergal Friel, Oisin Shiels.

Subs: Shaun Carr for Friel (h/t), Oisín McFadden for Coyle (53mins), Michael Sweeney for Carr (60mins), Mark Friel for Mark McAteer (68mins).

Malin: Daniel Mullarkey, Gary Farren, Ciaran Doherty, Sean Byrne, Taylor Bonner, Conor Farren (0-01), Paul McLaughlin, John Gerard McLaughlin, Daniel Houghton, Josh Conlon (0-04), Matthew Byrne, Christopher McLaughlin (0-03), Conor O Neill (1-02), Terence Doherty (0-01), Sean O’Neill (0-02).

Subs: Sean Kelly for Farren (h/t), Seamus Houghton ( 40mins), Conor McGeoghegan (0-01) for Doherty (55mins), Benny McLaughlin for Conlon (59mins), Josh Conlon for Byrne (68mins), Charlie Byrne for Sean O Neill (73mins), Terence Doherty for Benny McLaughlin (74mins).

Referee: Shane Murrin (Killybegs).