April 21, 2024

Final yr’s overwhelmed finalists St.Eunans bought their 2023 marketing campaign within the Micheal Murphy Sports activities and Leisure Senior Championship off to a successful begin with this victory over St.Nauls at O Donnell Park on Saturday night.

St Eunans…1-14 St Nauls…1-7

The house crew welcomed again Niall and Shane O’Donnell from the US and each began on the bench. The primary-half was nicely contested and Eunans led by three factors at half-time , 0-07 to 0-04.

By Charlie Collins at O’Donnell Park

They racked to a 0-04 to 0-02 lead early, Darragh Mulgrew with two, Conor O Donnell and Kevin Kealy with the others whereas Peadar Mogan kicked each St.Nauls factors from play.

Eoin McGeehin and Stephen Griffen exchanged fast factors and Conor O Donnell transformed two frees to place Eunans 4 forward however a wonderful Barry Griffen level left at 0-07 to 0-04 at half-time.

Ciaran Moore and Conor O Donnell along with his fourth free made it a 5 level recreation however two Stephen Griffen frees introduced it again to only three once more , 0-09 to 0-06.

Again got here Eunans once more with an different fantastic O Donnell free and Caolan Ward from play , shortly adopted by Conor O Donnell’s sixth profitable free , 0-12 to 0-06 .

Stephen Griffen transformed a free after which a penalty after a foul by Caolan Ward on Joe Campbell to go away simply three in it however Shaun Patton’s tremendous kick-out discovered Darragh Mulgrew who handed to the unmarked Eoin McGeehin in entrance of an empyrean internet and he tapped the ball to the online.

Niall O Donnell kicked the ultimate level of the sport to see St.Eunans win by 1-14 to 1-07 and searching ahead to a visit to fulfill Naomh Conaill subsequent Sunday.

St.Eunan’s: Shaun Patton, Conor Morrison , Caolan Ward (0-01), Peter Devine , Kieran Tobin ,Noel O Donnell , Peter McEniff , Darragh Mulgrew (0-02), Kevin Kealy (0-01), Brian McIntrye , Ciaran Moore (0-01), Dylan Duggan , Eoin Dowling , Conor O Donnell (0-06f’s), Eoin McGeehin ( 1-02). Subs: Conor Parke for Devine ( 35mins), Niall O Donnell 0-01 for Duggan (45mins), Eamonn Doherty for O Donnell (58mins),.

St Naul’s: Gavin Mulreany , Niall Prenderville , Brendan McCole , Caolan Gaffney , Martin Breslin , Oisin Mogan , Thomas White , Kyle Campbell , Shane Connelly , Barry Griffen ,(0-01), Stephen Griffin ( 1-04),Michael Coughlan , Stuart Johnston, Ian Campbell , Peadar Mogan (0-2 ). Subs ; Joe Campbell for Prenderville (37mins), Declan Duignan for Connelly (55mins),

Referee : Shane Murrin ( Killybegs),

GAA: St Eunans get championship tilt off to successful begin was final modified: August nineteenth, 2023 by Workers Author