May 19, 2024

Some extent deep into injury-time by substitute Ryan McNicholl gave Derry victory on this Ulster Championship semi-final conflict.

Donegal 0-14 Derry 1-12

By Charlie Collins at MacCumhaill Park

However the added time by referee Enda Mallon would be the speaking level for a lot of days to return.

Donegal had residence benefit at MacCumhaill Park by advantage of their prime spot end after an unbeaten report of their Group matches.

Derry completed runners-up behind Tyrone within the different Group, their solely defeat coming by only one level towards their desk toppers neighbours.

They adopted that up with a snug quarter-final victory over Cavan to arrange this final 4 conflict with Shaun Paul Barrett’s Donegal .

Luke McGlynn gave Donegal a primary minute lead and after Derry had missed a number of possibilities Conor Reid added one other within the seventh minute and Conor McGinty rapidly added a 3rd from lengthy vary.

We didn’t have the subsequent rating till the 18th minute, it was Derry’s first and a high quality effort from Patrick McGurk however Patrick McElwee replied instantly with a superb free to make 0-04 to 0-01 to Donegal after twenty minutes.

Luke McGlynn added his second level from a free , Ruairi Fobres replied for Derry however Sean Martin completed off a high quality Donegal transfer with a high quality rating.

Cahir Spiers added Derry’s third level however once more Donegal responded with a mark level from Karl Joseph Molloy.

Nonetheless Derry had the ultimate say of the primary half with Eoin Higgins profitable free to depart Donegal three forward at half-time , 0-07 to 0-04.

Luke McGlynn began the second-half as he had the primary with a fast level however after that Derry took management.

Oisín Doherty completed off a superb transfer with the sport’s first purpose, Sean Ward transformed a forty five to place Donegal two forward however Derry then kicked 4 in a row from Conal Heron , Ruairi Forbes , Oisín Doherty and Forbes once more they usually led for the primary time, 1-08 to 0-09.
Senan Carr replied for Donegal however three in a row for Derry from subs Ryan McNicholl and Ciaran Chambers and one other from Oisin Doherty put Derry 4 forward , 1-11 to 0-10 .

However Donegal weren’t completed and confirmed nice preventing spirit with 4 factors in a row from Karl Magee, Cian McMenamin , Luke McGlynn and Kevin Lynch to attract stage, because the three minutes of injury-time signaled got here to an finish and Additional-time beckoned .

Nonetheless Referee Enda Mallon allowed Derry one final assault because the clock ran previous these three minutes they usually took full benefit when Oisin Doherty fed Ryan McNicholl and he made no errors as he kicked the winner level.

The Donegal dugout had been lower than happy with the referee’s determination so as to add one other half-minute and the defeat was a bitter tablet to swallow.

Heartbreak for Donegal, nonetheless credit score to Derry for his or her second-half efficiency with Oisin Doherty’s early purpose the spark that despatched them on their strategy to the Ulster Remaining.

Donegal: Damien McGowan; Callum McCrea, Finbarr Roarty, Karl Magee (0-01), , Finn Coll, Oisin Caulfield, Sean Martin (0-01) , Conor Reid (0-01), Shaun Ward (0-01/45), Conor McGinty (0-01), Luke McGlynn ( 0-04 ) Senan Carr (0-01) , Eoghan Kelly, Patrick McElwee ( 0-01), KJ Molloy (0-01),

Subs used ; Niall Prendiville , Kevin Lynch (0-01), Donal Gallagher , Cian McMenamin (0-01),Lorcan McGee,

Derry: Callum Armstrong, Fionn McEldowney, James Murray, Rory Small, Conleth McGrogan, Patrick McGurk ( 0-01), Danny McDermott. , Tommy Rogers , Conal Heron (0-01), Cahir Spiers (0-01), Ruairi Forbes (0-03), Johnny McGuckian, Niall O’Donnell, Eoin Higgins (0-01), Oisin Doherty ( 1-02),

Subs used ; Ciaran Chambers (0-01), Ryan McNicholl (0-02).

Referee ; Enda Mallon ( Armagh).

Heartbreak for Donegal U20s as Derry snatch injury-time winner was final modified: April twenty fourth, 2024 by Workers Author