April 16, 2024

Donegal county star Ciaran McGeady clinched the 2024 Leo Molloy Memorial title with a 7-6 win over final 12 months’s runner up Adrian Devine within the Leo Molloy Darts event held in Kilcar on March ninth.

It was an excellent finale to a incredible day of darts and a becoming strategy to bear in mind Leo.

It was an epic battle with Ciaran trailing 4-1 and 5-2 and at that stage it appeared a certainty that Adrian would make up for final 12 months’s loss to Shane McGuirk however Ciaran had different concepts hitting double 5 to win the decider the place Adrian had darts to win.

An enormous 117 gamers entered this 12 months’s occasion and the darts from the off supplied many nice moments. McGeady had nice wins on route beating fellow Eire and Donegal crew mate Andrew Gillespie 6-4 within the semi-finals and defending champion Shane McGuirk within the quarter finals the place he had a 12 dart leg and there have been six 180s! Adrian beat the inform Stephen Harron 6-1 within the semi-finals and Stephen Nicolson within the quarter finals, he had the very best checkout of the day with a 157 within the semi narrowly beating JP Byrnes 154.

Greatest youth participant of the day was Daniel Cunningham and it was good to see so many younger gamers participate whereas Sharon Cunningham was one of the best girl thrower on the day.

A giant because of all of the gamers who entered, the checkers and markers who stored issues going from the primary spherical to the ultimate, to John Joes and Kilcar Home and workers for internet hosting.

To Susan and Aaron Molloy for sponsorship, Leo can be so proud to see the incredible turnout on the 25 anniversary of his premature passing. To Heineken Eire, Floyds Mace Dunkineely, Kilcar Cabs, The SIM Clinic, Dineen Aviation, Tuna.ie, Edge Clothes, CLG Chill Chartha, A & J Building for sponsorships we’re very grateful on your assist.

We glance to subsequent 12 months’s occasion and we’ll begin earlier and make just a few adjustments to get issues operating faster and look ahead to one other incredible occasion!

See photographs and outcomes under:


Ciaran McGeady 7-6 Adrian Butch Devine

Semi Finals

Ciaran McGeady 6-4 Andrew Gillespie

Adrian Butch Devine 6-1 Stephen Harron (157 c/o Adrain)

Semi Finals

Ciaran McGeady 5-3 Shane McGuirk (12 dart leg Ciaran)

Andrew Gillespie 5-3 Shaun McGowan

Adrian Butch Devine 5-1 Stephen Nicolson

Stephen Harron 5-2 Andrew Barron

Board Finals

Ciaran McGeady 4-1 Barry McBride

Shane McGuirk 4-1 Shaun McGuire

Andrew Gillespie 4-2 Anthony Newton

Shaun McGowan 4-3 Alan Byrne

Adrian Butch Devine 4-0 Des McGettigan

Stephen Nicolson 4-2 Dean Gallagher

Stephen Harron 4-1 Kieran Gallagher

Andrew Barron 5-3 Dermot McGuire (150 c/o Dermot)

Full record of outcomes on donegaldarts.com

McGeady wins first Leo Molloy title in dramatic style was final modified: March twenty first, 2024 by Employees Author