April 16, 2024

By Charlie Collins

Armagh 1-09 v 0-12 Donegal

A missed penalty and the woodwork denied Donegal what would have been a fantastic win towards unbeaten Armagh, a outcome meaning the groups stay locked on the prime of the Division Two desk with three rounds of matches to play.

Each groups got here into this fixture with 100% information behind them, three out of three, so conscious {that a} win would put them in a really sturdy place in relation to promotion again to Division One.

A defeat wouldn’t be the tip of the world given each groups’ fixtures to come back however video games between Ulster rivals all the time have an sure edge about them and this one wasn’t anticipated to be any totally different.

Mark Curran got here again into the Donegal beginning line-up and Hugh McFadden began for the primary time this 12 months. It took seven minutes earlier than the sport’s first rating, a nice effort from Peadar Mogan as each groups misplaced possession regularly.

Michael Langan added a second Donegal level however Conor O Neill replied with Armagh’s first rating. Paddy McBrearty acquired Donegal’s third from distance however O Neill replied rapidly once more and after sixteen minutes it was 0-03 to 0-02 to Donegal.

That didn’t final too lengthy as Ciaran Mackin’s lengthy ball was misjudged by Stephen McMenamin and Andrew Murrin blasted it to the online to place Armagh two factors forward. Aidan O Rourke kicked an excellent level, Oisín Gallen transformed a Mark, however Rory Grugan and Oisín Conaty each kicked nice factors from play to depart Armagh 4 factors forward, 1-05 to 0-04 after 26 minutes.

Paddy McBrearty’s free decreased the result in three factors from an in depth vary free then to 2 with an excellent level from play after a future from his personal half and simply earlier than the half-time whistle his try for one more level dropped quick however was deflected into the arms of Ciaran Thompson who thought of a aim however blasted the ball over the bar to make it three in a row for Donegal and only a level between them on the break, 1-05 to 0-07 and nonetheless anybody’s sport to win.

Paddy McBrearty’s early free had Donegal degree and Oisín Gallen’s Mark had them forward, then sub Shane O Donnell had a goalbound shot blocked as the sport heated up, 1-05 to 0-10 to Donegal.

Armagh had failed to attain within the opening fifteen minutes of the second-half and had made 4 modifications earlier than Joe McElroy and Rory Grugan factors introduced them degree, 1-07 to 0-10  Donegal then had one other nice aim likelihood as Micheal Langan put Shane O Donnell by way of however his shot crashed off the woodwork to security.

Andrew Murrin fisted the house staff forward however Oisín Gallen’s free had Donegal degree once more with ten minutes left, 1-08 to 0-11 factors.

Then with six minutes left a penalty for Donegal when Micheal Langan was fouled however Oisín Gallen’s penalty was saved by Blaine Hughes, an enormous second on this cracking encounter. Rian O Neill put Armagh forward however Shane O Donnell replied as the primary minute of 4 in injury-time as the stress grew to become insufferable for the 11,000 + crowd at Field-IT Athletic Grounds.

We had no extra scores and it led to a draw which was maybe the fairest outcome however Donegal will rue these missed aim possibilities within the second-half. These two might see each other once more within the Division Two Closing in a lot of weeks.

Armagh: Blaine Hughes, Paddy Burns, Aaron McKay, Peter McGrane, Greg McCabe, Aidan Forker (0-01), Ciarán Mackin, Connaire Mackin, Conor O Neill (0-02), Andrew Murrin (1-01), Rory Grugan (0-02), Joe McElroy (0-01), Cian McConville, Conor Turbitt, Oisin Conaty (0-01). Subs: (all 2nd half), Jason Duffy, Jarlath Og Burns, Rian O Neill (0-01), Stefan Campbell, Jemar Corridor.

Donegal: Shaun Patton, Mark Curran, Brendan McCole, Stephen McMenamin, Ryan McHugh, Caolan McGonagle, Dáire ÓBaoill, Ciarán Thompson (0-01), Michael Langan (0-01), Peadar Mogan (0-01), Ciaran Moore, Odhran Doherty, Patrick McBrearty (0-04), Oisin Gallen (0-04), Hugh McFadden. Subs: (all 2nd half) Shane O Donnell (0-01), Jeaic MacCeallabhui, Jamie Brennan.

Referee: Noel Mooney (Cavan).

Missed possibilities rued as Donegal draw with Armagh was final modified: February twenty fifth, 2024 by Workers Author